This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Uprgading a live deployment

Nov 4, 2011 at 7:09 AM

Hi All,

I am very new to DNN and am desperately trying to get up to speed as soon as possible. I really want to use DNN in azure but have been advised against it by DNN sales.

I have deployed a version of DNN using the accelerator V6. It seems to be running ok barring a couple of errors every now and then but nothing that is a show stopper.

I want to upgrade the running version in Azure so I don’t lose all the changes I have made such as new skins and a couple new modules.

Is there a way I can upgrade the version I have in the Azure or do I have to overwrite everything each time?

Any assistance would be appreciated or direction resources that could help!

Thanks,

Marco

Coordinator
Nov 4, 2011 at 12:18 PM
Edited Nov 4, 2011 at 12:19 PM

Hi @pbsol,

I will try to answer question by question:

1) About the advise by DNN sales, I understand that they reffers to the DNN Professional/Elite editions. You can deploy a CE on Azure without any problem (DNN does not offer support con Community Edition). If you deploy a PE/EE on Azure, I suppose that actual DNN support does not cover Azure matters (i.e. how to upgrade a webrole, change settings, etc. this is only supported by the community at this moment). Another thing to take into account is that if you want to deploy a PE/EE on Azure, at this moment each webrole instance will need a "webfarm machine license", so you will need to license a "maximum-expected" instances;